Fakultät Akademische… Doctorate Doctorate in med. /… Doctoral Procedure (The… Doctoral ceremony &…

Doctoral ceremony

The doctoral certificates are handed over by the Medical Faculty of Heidelberg in a ceremonial setting. This takes place once a year (around mid-July), on a Saturday morning in the New Assembly Hall (10.30 a.m. to around 1 p.m.).

This is a festive occasion to celebrate the awarding of the doctorate. The event is offered by the faculty, participation is not obligatory.

Doctoral ceremony 2024

Saturday, July 13, at 10.30 a.m.

in the New Assembly Hall of the University 

Grabengasse 3-5, Universitätsplatz


For the current ceremony, all doctoral candidates who have completed their doctoral studies by May 31 each year are invited.

In this case, you will receive a written invitation approximately 4 weeks in advance. (Please remember to inform us of any changes of address!).


An original signed and sealed copy of the doctoral certificate will already be sent to you immediately after the completion of your procedure.


Award ceremony

The Wilma Moser Award, the Dr. Feldbausch Foundation Award, and the Anita and Friedrich Reutner Award will also be presented at the graduation ceremony.

Wilma Moser Prize

The Wilma Moser Prize is named after the Mannheim pediatrician Dr. Wilma Moser. The prize, endowed with 2,500 euros, was awarded for the first time in 2005 and is intended to promote female researchers. Each year, it honors the best and youngest female scientists from the medical faculties or the Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics at the University of Heidelberg. In recognition of their outstanding achievements, the university of Heidelberg awards the Wilma Moser Foundation Prize to the two youngest female "summa cum laude" promoters of the previous year:

Laureates 2019

Dr. Magdalena Görtz

received her PhD in surgery under the supervision of Prof. Peter Schemmer on the topic "De novo synthesis of the metastasis-associated protein C4.4A in hepatocellular carcinoma enhances tumor cell migration and invasion". Results of her work were published in the scientific journal "Oncology Reports". Dr. Görtz's PhD was completed on Aug. 13, 2018, with the highest grade of "summa cum laude."

Dr. Verena Throm

received her Ph.D. on Dec. 20, 2018, also in surgery under the supervision of apl. Prof. Oliver Strobel. The project with the topic "SLURP1 as a tumor suppressor in pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma" was published in the journal "Oncotarget" with Dr. Throm as first author and was evaluated "summa cum laude".

Prize of the Dr. Feldbausch Foundation

The foundation was established by Dr. Friedrich Feldbausch in 1994. The name of the foundation is intended to refer to three relatives - grandfather, father and brother of the founder - who worked as physicians in Landau for around 100 years, from 1892 to 1992. The purpose of the foundation is primarily to honor individuals for above-average publications or achievements in the field of cancer research, among other things.

This year, the prize, endowed with 2,500 euros, will be awarded four times:

Laureates & Award Winners 2019

Mrs. Dr. med. Pia Maier

received her PhD in Physiology on Nov. 12, 2018 under the supervision of Prof. Dr. Andreas Draguhn and is awarded with the Dr. Feldbausch Foundation Prize for her outstanding doctoral dissertation with the topic: "Effects of oxytocin on hippocampal network oscillations."

Mrs. Dr. med. Li Xao

She received her PhD in surgery on Aug. 13, 2018, under the supervision of Prof. Dr. Tilo Hackert. Dr. Xiao is awarded with the Dr. Feldbausch Foundation Prize for her PhD project "Efficacy of vaccination with tumor-exosome loaded dendritic cells combined with cytotoxic drug treatment in pancreatic cancer".

Mr. Dr. med. Afshin Saffari

received his PhD in Pediatrics on March 07, 2018, under the supervision of Prof. Dr. Stefan Kölker, and is awarded for his outstanding PhD with the topic: "The impact of the TSC-mTOR Pathway on spatiotemporal dynamics of mitochondrial metabolism in neuronal models of tuberous sclerosis complex".

Mr. Dr. sc. hum. Ingmar Sören Meyer

received his PhD on April 26, 2018 in the department of "Internal Medicine" under the supervision of Prof. Dr. Florian Leuschner. He receives the award for his PhD project: "Monocyte activation after myocardial infarction: the role of non-canonical WNT signaling and WNT inhibitory factor-1".

Anita and Friedrich Reutner Prize

The prize, endowed by Prof. Friedrich Reutner (Honorary Senator of Heidelberg University), was awarded for the first time at Heidelberg Medical Faculty in 2011. The prize is aimed at young female scientists who do not yet hold an established position and are working at an institution of the Heidelberg Medical Faculty. In particular, such achievements are to be honored that address clinically relevant research questions. In 2019, the Friedrich Reutner Prize will be awarded for the ninth time.